Home Turf

**Disclaimer: The pic is of some cows that got loose outside of our home.

The prompt for today is Home Turf: Name five things in your house that make it a home.

For me, it isn’t the “things” in my house that make it a home. Sure, I can tell you that the hundreds of pictures of our family hanging on the wall, or the shaking of the washing machine during the spin cycle, or even the sound of the gravel crunching when someone comes into our driveway.

It’s the smells, the conversations, and that feeling of comfort when you kick your shoes off after a long day. Fall is almost here and the temps aren’t in the triple digits any more, and the humidity isn’t at 100%. It’s starting to feel nice. When I say nice I mean that it’s in the 80’s and there’s a slight breeze. We live just outside of city limits so I can smell bonfires in the neighborhood, which is on my top ten list of favorite smells. I may even cook a gumbo sometime this weekend. I love the smell of gumbo cooking.

Conversations are hardly normal around here. My oldest –who is mildly deaf in both ears- wears hearing aids but doesn’t always have them turned up. The simplest sentence can be thrown off into a whole other conversation.

“Claire, can you feed Gracie please?”

Silence.

Claire, can you feed Gracie please?” This time a bit louder.

Silence, then the shuffle of her feet across the carpet.

“Did you call for me?”

“Yes, can you feed Gracie?”

“She’s right there,” pointing to our beautiful dog. “How can you not see her?”

My head bows and I breathe. I count to ten, then count backwards. “Claire,” I begin and point to her ears. “Turn them up.” She twiddles with them and I repeat myself. “Feed Gracie.”

“Oh, okay. Sure.”

Other times, I feel like we’re in the Abbot and Costello skit of “Who’s on first?”

To me, that’s home. Having these crazy conversations with either of my girls or trying to figure out what we’re watching on Netflix. Home is where I can laugh, be myself, and burp without having to hold it in. Home is where my girls and Anthony can be themselves and drive me nuts.

4 thoughts on “Home Turf

  1. you sure knew how to handle situations like that with claire.. as i picture the conversation, i can’t help but smile but with the hope that it will turn out just fine.. btw, have you included the pingback to The Daily Post?, am just curious how will this post look like in there..

    Like

Leave a comment